Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics (NUTS) is a geographical system, divided into one of four levels based on geographic size.

The levels are titled:

NUTS 0 (largest area)



NUTS 3 (smallest area)

The system was introduced to allow for comparison of statistics across different countries, based on similar areas of geographic size.
NUTS 3 regions typically include a population of between 150,000 and 800,000.

In England NUTS 3 regions are Counties or groups of unitary authorities, 139 areas in total.
Each NUTS region has a unique code, the length of which is dependent on the hierarchical level of the NUTS region illustrated below based on Leeds:

Region NUTS level Code
United Kingdom NUTS 0 UK
Yorkshire and the Humber NUTS 1 UKE
West Yorkshire NUTS 2 UKE4
Leeds NUTS 3 UKE42

Find Out More

AFD Software’s experienced Data Quality Consultants have delivered International Address Validation to organisations trading across the world. Our team wants to talk to you, understand your requirements and help achieve your goals.

Call Oliver Lenihan now on 01624 811711 or email

Request a Callback


Alternatively fill out the form below and one of our address management experts will be in touch with you soon.